Western Australian Community Achievement Awards

2022 Winners

 HASS Foods Tourism and Hospitality Award

Cathy Wood (right) presents Busselton Jetty Inc with their Winners Trophy.

Busselton Jetty Incorporated is a not-for-profit that operates Busselton Jetty, a 157-year-old heritage-listed attraction and eco-tourism destination. They offer unique tourism experiences, including a Solar-electric over-ocean tourist train and the largest natural Underwater Observatory. 25% of BJI’s gross revenue are redirected to the Jetty Maintenance Reserve and 3% to the Busselton Jetty Environment Foundation. BJI is a WA Tourism Award Hall of Famer.


Ricoh Australia Customer Service Award

Troy Anderson (left) presents Integrity Coach Lines with their Winners Trophy.

Integrity Coach Lines is a public transport provider that runs 8 services a week. Integrity offers ease of booking, prioritises customer retention and communication. They offer assistance with itineraries through their reservation team. They implemented a ‘Hop on Hop off’ pass for tourists. The company employs 17 permanent staff, 13 of whom are full-time employees. Staff receive training around issues for feedback received.


Insurance Commission of Western Australia Regional Safety Award

Fab Zanuttigh (centre) presents Shire of Nannup - Living with Emus with their Winners Trophy.

Shire of Nannup - Living with Emus is a project designed to communicate road safety messaging to pre-drivers and learner drivers. It aims to increase the understanding of the risks while driving on regional roads, with a focus on those caused by wildlife. The initiative enabled local artist, Lewis Horne, in consultation with Nannup youth, to create a large emu sculpture from old road signs to open dialogues.


Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries Making a Difference Award

Ms Jane Kelsbie (centre) presents Meekatharra Shire Youth Services with their Winners Trophy.

Meekatharra Shire Youth Services has operated the Meekatharra Youth Centre since 1988. MSYS works in collaboration with like-minded organisations like the Yulella Aboriginal Corporation, Mission Australia and Youth Focus. With Yulella, MSYS provides support to the social development of Aboriginal people. With Mission Australia, MSYS offers mental health coordination services. With Youth Focus, MSYS provides no-cost mental health services and early intervention and prevention services.


Woolworths Community Group of the Year Award

Anthea Halliday (right) presents South West Indian Group with their Winners Trophy.

South West Indian Group (SWIG ) is a not-for-profit community volunteer group promoting multiculturalism through their Indian themed events. SWIG's vision is "Building Bridges, Breaking Barriers" promoting harmony, wellness, and unity .During Covid 19 pandemic, SWIG campaigned for ventilators in India and fund raising. SWIG events contribute towards education for poor income girls as well as Aboriginal communities. SWIG in collaboration with City of Bunbury Council planted 260 seedlings on World environment day on the 5th June 2022.


Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development Economic Development Award

Hon. Darren West (right), and John Acres (left) presents Denmark Farmhouse Cheese and Ducketts Mill Wines with their Winners Trophy.

Denmark Farmhouse Cheese and Ducketts Mill Wines is a family-owned business that produces award-winning cheeses and grow premium grapes made into wine. Since its purchase in 2018 from its founders, DFC|DMW has tripled production and supply. They also run a retail outlet, a restaurant and a vineyard. They currently have 6 full-time staff and 13 casual positions.


Stumpys Roadhouse Local Legend Award


Sean Wood (right) presents Renee Knapp with her Winners Trophy.

Renee Knapp founded Boyup Brook Community Mental Health Action (CoMHAT) in 2016. While a Deputy Principal at Boyup Brook District High School, Renee saw the need for improved mental health outcomes for youth and the community. She founded the CoMHAT model and created a framework for change that brings sectors together in order to improve mental health outcomes across communities.


Curtin University, School of Education Teaching Excellence Award

Dr. Madeleine Dobson (left) presents Lynette Hillier with her Winners Trophy.

Lynette Hillier has created innovative and engaging biology programs for students based on local environmental issues. The Blue Swimmer Crab Monitoring program monitors the health and population of crab stocks in Bunbury. Investigating biodiversity, methods to reduce mosquito populations and rehabilitation are the focus of the Mallokup Wetlands project. Lynette recently participated in the Earth Watch Teach-live Bush Blitz program to bring further learning to her students.


Rinehart Development of Northern Regional WA Award

Marguerite Olivier (right) presents City of Karratha with their Winners Trophy.

City of Karratha has transformed to become a vibrant, modern and liveable city. The City has successfully built infrastructure to accommodate current and future industry and community demands. With sound budgeting and sensible use of resources, the City has maintained a debt-free bottom line. In 2020, the City was ranked 13th of 138 LGA’s in regional Western Australia by total revenue and the number one in regional WA.