Northern Territory Young Achiever Awards

2017 Winners of the Northern Territory Young Achiever Awards

The 2017 Category Winners on stage together with His Honour the Honourable Michael Grant, Acting Administrator of the Northern Territory


Overall Winner - Northern Territory Young Achiever of the Year

Mark Munnich, 24 of Driver is completing a Bachelor of Law and works as a Community Legal Educator. He is an ambassador for the Office of Indigenous Student Support and volunteers with the Bilata Indigenous Legal Pathways Program. Mark is a member of the Winkiku Rrumbangi Indigenous Lawyers Association, and Treasurer of the Northern Territory AIDS and Hepatitis Council. He is the youngest Board member of Danila Dilba Health Service.


Ms Ngaree Ah Kit MLA, Assistant Minister for Youth presented Mark Munnich with the Minister for Territory Families Excellence in Youth Leadership Award


Charles Darwin University Arts Award

Eleanor Dixon, 25 of Elliott was awarded the Barkly NAIDOC Week Culture Award in recognition of outstanding achievement in Performance, Creative Arts and/or Cultural Endeavours. She was invited to perform at the 2016 Nannup Music Festival and spoke at the Australians Worldwide Music Expo about the real challenges for Indigenous musicians. Eleanor volunteers and supports local events including the Desert Harmony Festival, Winajikarri Music Centre and Bush Bands Bash and is currently touring with the Violent Femmes.


Professor Sue Carthew, Provost and Vice President, Charles Darwin University presented Edi Donald, representing Eleanor Dixon with the Charles Darwin University Arts Award


ConocoPhillips Environment Award

Alyson Stobo-Wilson, 27 of Darwin completed a Bachelor of Science with first-class honours and is now a PhD researcher and lecturer. She co-authored her first scientific paper on the spread of Calotropis procera through the Territory. Alyson contributes to the conservation of the northern savanna glider and raised funds for the project. She worked on a documentary called Wonder of Marsupials, telling the story of the discovery of the savanna glider.


Filippo Meacci, Darwin Operations Manager, ConocoPhillips Australia presented Alyson Stobo-Wilson with the ConocoPhillips Environment Award

Genesee & Wyoming Australia Indigenous Achievement Award

Ineke Wallis, 22 of Nhulunbuy is the Executive Manager for the East Arnhem Regional Council, a Member of the Chief Minister's Round Table for Young Territorians and the Anglicare Youth Advisory Board. She represented Australia at the Expert of Mechanism for Human Rights of Indigenous Peoples at the United Nations. Ineke won the 2016 Youth Citizen of the Year and she will be a Mentor at the 2017 National Indigenous Youth Parliament.


Shane Hennessy, Operations Manager Darwin, Genesee & Wyoming Australia Pty Ltd presented Yilki Guyula, representing Ineke Wallis, with the Genesee & Wyoming Australia Indigenous Achievement Award


Glencore McArthur River Mining Regional and Rural Initiative Award

Neily O’Connell, 26 of Araluen is the Youth Engagement Officer at Headspace. She facilitates the Youth Advisory Group to provide mental and physical health services to schools and the community and to decrease the stigma around mental health through education. Neily is also the volunteer Director and Company Secretary of Alice Springs Community Financial Services, working with a team to support the community through scholarships and sponsorships.


Sam Strohmayr, General Manager, McArthur River Mining presented Neily O’Connell with the Glencore McArthur River Mining Regional and Rural Initiative Award

NT Government Small Business Achievement Award

Jamie Kokles-Ridgway, 25 of Nhulunbuy started Travelling Tadpole Swim School in 2015. The Swim School aims to help prevent drowning deaths of children under five, through swim lessons, effective education and a focus on engaging aboriginal children. Jamie’s business has five certified instructors and she requires all staff to participate in ongoing training. The School won ‘Business of the Year Award 2016’ from the East Arnhem Chamber of Commerce.


The Hon. Michael Gunner MLA, Chief Minister of the Northern Territory presented Jamie Kokles-Ridgway with the NT Government Small Business Achievement Award


NT Government Young Carers Award

Kyaw Naing John Yusuf, 24 of The Garden cares for his mother who suffers with mental illness, providing up to 18 hours of care a day. Kyaw has undergone SafeTalk training and attends the Young Carer Peer Support Program. After being housebound for years, his mother is now attending social events thanks to Kyaw’s ongoing support. He is an active ambassador for multiculturalism, and a role model for young carers.


Mr Scott McConnell MLA, Member for Stuart presented Kyaw Naing John Yusuf with the NT Government Young Carers Award


NT Government Young Indigenous Educator Award

Jade Sharp, 25 of Leanyer began teaching last year at Stuart Park Primary. She incorporates her knowledge of Visible Learning Techniques in her classroom and is actively involved in school activities, with her students performing in NAIDOC week activities. Jade is committed to ongoing personal development, and applies new ideas to her teaching. She has established an encouraging learning environment, allowing her students to achieve their full potential.


The Hon. Eva Lawler MLA, Minister for Education presented Jade Sharp with the NT Government Young Indigenous Educator Award


PTTEP Australasia Health and Wellbeing Award

Rian Smit, 26 of Lyons is a mental health advocate, helping to reduce the stigma by sharing her own story. Rian has worked with the Foundation of Young Australian's Social Pioneers Program, and on the ‘Live it - Speak it’ program, through the National Centre for Excellence in Youth Mental Health. She co-designed Darwin’s first youth specific LGBTIQ group and is currently creating a one-on-one Peer Support consultancy business. Rian will also soon commence studying psychology.


Andy Jacob, Business & Operations Support Manager presented Rian Smit with the PTTEP Australasia Health and Wellbeing Award


Somerville Community Service Award

Aditi Srinivas, 28 of Darwin is an advocate for marginalised groups in the Territory. She is co-founder of the volunteer organisation WHAT RU4 NT?, a group dedicated to reforming NT law. She is a passionate advocate for LGBTIQ and women’s rights, serving on numerous committees and through paid work as a Legal Aid solicitor. She also raises awareness and appreciation of Indian culture.


Skye Lee, Assets, Infrastructure & Maintenance Manager, Somerville Community Services presented Aditi Srinivas with the Somerville Community Service Award


The Coffee Club Fashion Award

Matilda Alegria, 27 of Parap launched her first theatrical collection showcase ‘A Minute’s Warning’ in 2012, the first high fashion showcase ever to be produced in the Territory. She has since launched a further two collections and established her own fashion and event business. Her focus is on large scale events, custom made wedding dresses and special event attire. Matilda is passionate about the fashion industry in the Territory.


Cindy Leong, The Coffee Club presented Matilda Alegria with The Coffee Club Fashion Award


Zip Print Sport Award

Jasmine Anderson, 25 of Karama was one of the first Indigenous women and the first mother to be selected to play in the Women’s National AFL competition. She plays for the Adelaide Crows Women’s AFL Team and is studying a Bachelor of Education Primary Teaching. She wants to inspire Indigenous youth to achieve their goals and to educate children about the benefits of education, health and nutrition.


Mark Teakle, Managing Director, Zip Print presented Jasmine Anderson with the Zip Print Sport Award